General update

So, long time, no news 😦

What has happend since last time? Not too much. I tried using OSOL as my main OS, and did so for a while. I still like the technologies at work, but I’m not as happy with the distribution. Why do they insist on using xorg 1.3?

Apart from that I don’t like gnome, and compiling KDE from svn seemd like too much work with all solaris specific things. So after a while I went back to linux, and decided to try ubuntu, just to see what all the buzz is all about.  I didn’t get it, nothing was as simple as it was supposed to be, and worst of all was the sound. It just refused to work properly while using mplayer 😦

So after building a good gentoo base system I went back to gentoo. Seems that I’m stuck with it 😉 And thats not a bad thing, I really like it.

After some more time FreeBSD 7.1 was released so I just had to try it. And I kinda like it. I had some problems, like not being able to install the nvidia binary drivers. A bit annoying. Then boost gave me some weird problems like “concurrency error”. And worst of all, suspend to ram is not working on SMP kernels. Not very good for a laptop 😦 If I find the time maybe I’ll migrate to 8.0-CURRENT and see if that gives me working suspend to ram.

Well, that’s all for now. Hope to work out some of these issuses soon.

Leave a Reply

