KDE4.1 update

Having used KDE4.1 for some time now I’ve grown accustomed to the changes and found some fixes to performance problems.

After reading this link and a recompile of qt-4.4 and all of KDE4.1 kwin no more uses ~80% cpu for no apparent reason. It does hower still use a hefty amount when dragging windows around…

After updating to nVidia’s latest beta drivers (177.67), things are now starting to work smoothly. I can now resize a window and not have to wait 10 seconds to see the results. So even nVidia are improving, thats nice. It’s just a shame the put themselfs in this position at all.

One thing with KDE4.1 I really don’t like is Kontact. It segfaults daily, and for no apparent reason. Since I built it without debugging symbols I can’t provide any useful backtraces, sorry. I also don’t like the changes in akregator: I dont want have a separate column for unread, just put that number right next to the feed name as in akregator in KDE3.5 please.

I also think that 4.1 uses to much screen area. I’d like the ‘Toolbar from current window’ at the top of the screen ( OS X lookalike ) but with the ability to add systray to it. That would enable me to get rid of the panel altogether and hence minimizing used screen area.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

