PC-BSD

So today I installed an alpha version of PC-BSD, which is based on FreeBSD 7. It was a really easy to use installer which allowed for zfs based file systems. It also includes KDE4.1. I must say that KDE4.1 is much smoother on *BSD than on linux. What the **** are nVidia doing with their drivers?

It seems however that PC-BSD didn’t like the disk i installed it on ( a usb attached 120 gb ata disk) and spits out lots of “SCSI error…”

Maybe I’ll wipe my OpenSolaris install of my internal HDD and install FreeBSD there instead as I need to learn a bit about it for future possible jobs. I’ll then install OpenSolaris on the USB drive and see if it fares better.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

